The IAAIS Awards

Every year, IAAIS member reading and information services submit samples of their best programming. The Awards Committee puts together a group of judges, who spend many hours listening to the programs.

At the IAAIS Annual Conference, awards are presented for the best programs in many categories.

If your service has spent years producing a wide variety of programming, using a stellar cast of producers and volunteer readers, it's time you were recognized by your peers. Here's more information, if you'd like to begin submitting sample programs for consideration.

Mark Dewitt
Awards Committee Chair

Programs must have aired during 2015. Submissions are due by Noon Central on January 24th.   Entry form, rules and judging sheets may be found through this link: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/slikradacoamliq/AACKr4MyMcmPYjZq2SFbOELfa?dl=0  

Information on uploading your submissions will be provided separately. Please direct questions to Mark DeWitt (mark.dewitt@cincyblind.org). Awards will be presented during the President's Banquet Saturday evening, June 4, 2016 at the IAAIS Annual Conference in Princeton, NJ.      

    Program Awards Categories

    All programs may be live with no editing or produced/edited. Please indicate this on entry form.
  • A.    Newspapers - may be from one or more papers
  • B.    Consumer Information - Shopping, groceries, catalogs, community events, TV listings/highlights-program length more than 5 minutes
  • C.   Magazines - one edition of a weekly, bi-weekly or monthly magazine is the program
  • D.   Magazine Digest - program content from a variety of magazines or different editions of one magazine combined into a single program.  There may be one or more topics in a program
  • E.   Narrative Reading - One reader at a time-non dramatic reading of books (fiction/non-fiction, short stories, poetry
  • F.  Dramas and Dramatic Reading - Plays or radio theatre or dramatic reading of books, plays, short stories.
  • G.   Thematic Production - single spot or series of spots each less than 5 minutes
  • H. Interview and/or Call-in I. Non-Reading Entertainment - non-reading porgrams to entertain the listeners, e.g. music and history programs, combo on-location/studio productions. 
  • J.   On Location Program - total program recorded on location.  

The C. Stanley Potter Lifetime Achievement Award

Click here to download guidelines for nominating someone for the CSP award.

2009 Award Winners, 2010 Conference page
2008 Award Winners, 2009 Conference page
Full list of C. Stanley Potter Lifetime Achievement Award winners, with bios
(Note: this information is incomplete and is currently being revised, thanks to the historical records retained by former IAAIS President Bill Pasco.)
2007 Award Winners
2007 Honorable Mentions
2006 Program Award Winners
2005 Program Award Winners
2005 Honorable Mentions
2004 Program Award Winners
2004 Honorable Mentions
Michael Starling, NPR, Receives 2003 C. Stanley Potter Award

2003 Program Award Winners
2002 C. Stanley Potter Award
2002 Program Award Winners
2002 Honorable Mentions
2001 Award Winners

Web site and all contents © Copyright IAAIS 2016, All rights reserved.

Free website templates